Home

I am a horrible student. It is a good thing that this blog’s declarative is a ‘poet under construction’ for it perhaps shall be a house never built. There seems to be a disconnect within the gray matter regarding the fact that it is O K to not understand every concept; every approach to a new subject. It seems that this little universe of mine has no tolerance for personal mistake.

Today was ModPo’s first live streaming class in which the discussion reached out to anyone who was willing and able via Coursera link; YouTube;Twitter feed; online discussion forum; or phone. Obviously, there are many of us around the globe that cannot join, so the live version was converted for our viewing at a later date.

After viewing the replay (libraryland duty took precedence), I’d say fix the audio issues, and you’ve an enlightening, interesting, and inspiring educational video on all things modern poetry. It made me wish to be back at university. Frankly, I knew with Al Filreis, professor and faculty head of Kelly Writers House, as maestro, one would see no less from someone who is dedicated to spreading the art of poetry.

If you’re curious about the class format via Coursera** or Modern Poetry, I urge you to sit back and enjoy this informative discussion. Who knows, perhaps you can then help me understand a few concepts that are now making me feel a bit dense… a bit anti-modern. Enjoy ~

;

** I’ve read on one of the threads that Filreis will more than likely offer this course again via Coursera. Please, poets and non-poets, sign up if you’ve a chance.

(sidebar: three parting thoughts at this midnight hour:

1 ~ If the poetry I write is not about the actual art of poetry, ars poetica, then am I not a modernist? This one has me quite perplexed. Do the modern poets always write with sole intention of addressing the poem?

2. Last night’s entry regarding Ginsberg’s poem…
After reading more commentary last night and this morning, I concluded on my bike to work this morning that one point I failed to mention, expound upon…perhaps I missed it altogether was that Ginsberg was reaching out to Whitman because he had become Whitman of the time. The more I thought about it, the charges brought against the poem “Howl” were equivalent to the backlash that Whitman received upon initial publication of “Leaves of Grass”. Despite Ginsberg being vindicated in court, he must have questioned the establishment and his place within the art world, or at least as artist/teacher in a very conservative 1950s enviro. One can conjecture that this was a cry out to Whitman for direction because Ginsberg needed to know how to move forward; how to sing the song of self after America had tried to remove his vocal chords.

3. Sid Corman’s poetry is introduced this week, as well as discussed on today’s live stream. I believe this was the poet mentioned several time during the opening session for ModPo that I tried to remember when at the bookstore. Listen to him read his poem, “It Isn’t For Want”. It was this part of today’s class that made me a) want to find his books, quick b) understand meta-poetry c) go back to writing about poetry without apology.

just some thoughts for pondering…under construction, always. ~ a)

